You Are the Best

Doubting yourself is something that everyone does. If you say you don’t do it… you’re lying. You may not think about it or realize that you’re doing it. It can be mentally doubting yourself or physically doubting yourself. When you ride a horse, it’s really hard to not doubt yourself. You can’t talk to your horse and tell them what you want them to do for you. The key is to not doubt. I recently talked about having confidence in yourself and this can be a part of not doubting yourself. Sometimes you just have to get on, kick yourself in the butt, and do it. I know that’s easier said than done, but it is possible.

I am currently taking a course here at Michigan State called horsemanship and I actually get ride a pretty cool little mare. She has taught me a lot. Especially about how I doubt myself. I never thought I doubted myself until I rode this horse. Instead of doubting myself I would always try to figure out how I was communicating to my horse and if it’s the best way possible to get across my message. My little chestnut mare shows every flaw in my riding and my instructor can even see it from just watching her. The second my body tenses up and I start doubting what I’m doing my mare gets tense and jumpy. The second I relax she relaxes. The key is to not doubt yourself and have confident in how you’re riding. I took this idea and my frame of mind when I get on her now is just do it. I might be taking a Nike slogan, but it’s normally just in my head so I hope they make an acception.

So the lesson learned is just do it! Don’t doubt or think about it (unless you have to) and just do it.

With love,

The Modern Equestrian

2 thoughts on “You Are the Best

Add yours

  1. Lexi, I think I have doubted myself alot during my lifetime… Guess we get better as we AGE..
    There was times when if I would have gone and done what I thought was a good way, it would
    have been better. But I really don’t regret any of it. Live life to the fullest and you are having a great
    Time so far I would say. XO XO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

